How are you praying? (Part 4)

It’s been a bit of a long day so a short post tonight! A few final thoughts on the Prayers of Paul. This one is a bit of a cheat as it’s not a prayer so much as a prayer request. In Romans 15:30-33 Paul writes:

I appeal to you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to strive together with me in your prayers to God on my behalf, that I may be delivered from the unbelievers in Judea, and that my service for Jerusalem may be acceptable to the saints, so that by God’s will I may come to you with joy and be refreshed in your company. May the God of peace be with you all. Amen. ESV

I find this a humbling prayer. You see I reckon one of the temptations that faces us as Christians is a temptation to be self reliant. To ask another to pray for me can almost feel like an admission of defeat or failure.

The great apostle Paul, writes to his friends in the church in Rome and says ‘Would you pray for me; I need you to pray for me. ”

I takes humility to ask others to pray for you.

On final observation on the prayers of Paul. Do you notice the language used here when Paul asks for prayer? “Strive together with me” he says. Paul wants prayers who will stick at it, who will be persistent, who will wait on God for him and seek his power and blessing. Those who serve in this way are partners “together with” him.

So… how about asking someone to pray for you to fulfill the ministry to which God has called you? And by all means pray that for me!

What you could pray for me right now:

  • For God’s guidance in my preparation for this Sunday
  • For God’s anointing on my preaching especially.
  • Pray for power! I was struck by 1 Cor 4:20 recently. “For the kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in power.” I’m asking God for his power in my ministry and in the ministry of his church.
  • I’m preaching at Ladyfield Evangelical a week Sunday and would apreciate prayers for guidance and anointing as I prepare for that… (There is a theme developing here….)
  • That God would give me and the other leaders of PSBC wisdom as we try and understand the prioroties for the next season in the churches life.
  • That I would use the sabatical month coming up this summer well.

There that should keep you going!

Leave a Reply

